Post sponsored by

Source: US State of Delaware

Twenty of the state’s top teachers will be honored at a banquet next month, when one of them will be named Delaware’s 2020 Teacher of the Year.The winner will be announced at the annual award dinner on Tuesday, Oct. 15 at the Dover Downs Hotel and Casino in Dover. Funding for the award ceremony is made in part by a grant from Voya Financial. The program begins at 6 p.m. with the announcement coming at the end of the night.The candidates were nominated by their districts or the charter network during the 2019 calendar year because of their superior ability to inspire students with a love of learning, exemplary demonstration of professional traits and strong sense of dedication and devotion to teaching.
Each nominee submitted a detailed online application exemplifying his or her teaching philosophy. Five Delaware Department of Education staff members independently evaluate each application. A former state Teacher of the Year and a member of the department staff also visit each candidate’s classroom to observe his or her teaching. Taking into consideration the ratings from the application review and classroom observation as well as a recorded presentation by the nominees, another independent panel of non-department judges then selects the one teacher who will serve as the 2020 Delaware Teacher of the Year.The teacher chosen to become the State Teacher of the Year will become Delaware’s nominee in the national program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers in partnership with the Voya Foundation.By action of the General Assembly, the Delaware Teacher of the Year will receive a $5,000 grant to use for the educational benefit of his or her students, as well as a personal grant of $3,000. Additionally, all nominees will receive a $2,000 grant from the state.The 2020 District/Charter Teachers of the Year are:
District/Charters: Name, School, Content area
Appoquinimink: Stephen Landry, Appoquinimink High, mathematicsBrandywine:Lauren Conrad, Concord High, music (vocal)Caesar Rodney: Sabra Collins, Caesar Rodney High, physical educationCape Henlopen: Brennan Clarke, Shields Elementary, English as a second languageCapital: Erica N. Richard, East Dover Elementary, K-4 mathematics specialistCharters: Kayla Sweet, Kuumba Academy, 6th grade mathematicsChristina: Lindsey Muldoon, Shue Medill Middle, 8th grade English language artsColonial: Rebecca Louise Vitelli, Colonial Early Education Program, PrekindergartenDelmar: Donna Huston, Delmar High, English language artsIndian River: Arthur Henry, Millsboro Middle, music (band)Lake Forest: Christina Hughes-Gallo, Lake Forest High, social studiesLaurel: Donna Sava, Laurel Elementary, 1st gradeMilford: Jaime Hill, Morris Early Childhood Center, kindergartenNCCVT: Anthony Webb, Delcastle High, mathematicsPOLYTECH: Nick Post, POLYTECH High, electrical trades technologyRed Clay Consolidated: Richard F. Weaver III, AI duPont High, music (band)Seaford: Laura Burke, Central Elementary, 3rd gradeSmyrna: Denise Balcerak, Sunnyside Elementary, kindergartenSussex Tech: Dontez Collins, Sussex Tech High, mathematicsWoodbridge: Stephanie Vodvarka, Phillis Wheatley Elementary, 4th gradePhotos of the teachers are available online here.