Post sponsored by

Source: Republic Of China Taiwan

President Tsai and Vice President and Mrs. Lai receive congratulations from foreign guests

President Tsai and Vice President and Mrs. Lai receive congratulations from foreign guests


President Tsai Ing-wen and Vice President Lai Ching-te and his wife received congratulations from members of the diplomatic corps and foreign organizations stationed in Taiwan as well as representatives from international organizations on the morning of May 20 at the Taipei Guest House.

At 10:30 am members of the foreign diplomatic corps came forward one-by-one to congratulate President Tsai and Vice President Lai and his wife, with Secretary-General to the President Su Jia-chuyan (蘇嘉全) and Foreign Minister Joseph Wu (吳釗燮) on hand to accompany them.

Although foreign guests were not invited to attend the inauguration ceremony in Taiwan this year due to the pandemic, our allies and foreign officials and dignitaries from friendly countries sent congratulations via video.

Foreign guests who attended the event to offer congratulations included 15 members of the foreign diplomatic corps stationed in Taiwan: Nicaraguan Ambassador William Manuel Tapia Aleman (Dean of the foreign diplomatic corps in Taiwan), St. Christopher and Nevis Ambassador Jasmine Elise Huggins, Paraguayan Ambassador Marcial Bobadilla Guillen, Palauan Ambassador Dilmei Louisa Olkeriil, Haitian Ambassador Rachel Coupaud, Belize Ambassador Diane C. Haylock, Tuvalu Ambassador Limasene Teatu, Saint Lucia Ambassador Edwin Laurent, Marshall Islands Ambassador Neijon R. Edwards, Guatemalan Ambassador Willy Alberto Gomez Tirado, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Ambassador Andrea Clare Bowman, Nauruan Ambassador Jarden Kephas, Honduras Ambassador Eny Yamileth Bautista Guevara, Charge d’Affaires a.i. Monsignor Arnaldo Catalan of the Apostolic Nunciature, and Eswatini Charge d’Affaires Lindiwe Cynthia Trizah Kunene; guests from foreign organizations stationed in Taiwan: American Institute in Taiwan Taipei Office Director William Brent Christensen, Japan-Taiwan Exchange Association Taipei Office Chief Representative Hiroyasu Izumi, Head of the European Economic and Trade Office Filip Grzegorzewski, Singapore Trade Office in Taipei Trade Representative Yip Wei Kiat, Australian Office Taipei Representative Gary Richard Cowan, Korean Mission in Taipei Representative Kang Young-Hoon, French Office in Taipei Director Jean-Francois Casabonne-Masonnave, German Institute Taipei Director General Thomas Prinz, British Office Taipei Representative Catherine Elizabeth Nettleton, and Canadian Trade Office in Taipei Executive Director Jordan Reeves; representatives of international organizations: World Vegetable Center Director General Marco Wopereis, and Food and Fertilizer Technology Center for the Asian and Pacific Region Director Su-San Chang (張淑賢).

MIL OSI Asia Pacific News