Post sponsored by

Source: Government of Iceland

The Minister of Justice has decided to extend the travel restrictions imposed by the EU and Schengen states while lifting restrictions for residents of fourteen non-EEA and Schengen states as of July 15, in line with the decision of EU Member States. The new regulation also states that the travel restrictions do not apply to citizens and residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican. 

The travel restrictions do not apply to EEA or EFTA citizens or those with valid residence permits or other rights of residence in an EEA or EFTA state, and their relatives. Furthermore, the restrictions do not apply to individuals with demonstratable residence in one of the following fourteen states when travelling to Iceland from their respective state of residence. 

The fourteen states are:

  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Tunisia
  • Thailand
  • Uruguay

The list will be revised regularly.

Exemptions based on essential travel remain unchanged. For example, students from outside the Schengen area and specialist travelling for essential work continue to be allowed to enter Iceland. 

Further information on the restrictions, exemptions, and what documents must be presented to enter Iceland are available on the website of the Directorate of Immigration. 

MIL OSI Europe News