MIL OSI Translation. Region: Russian Federation –
Eight online tours of cultural heritage sites are accompanied by guides, ethnographers and restorers.
New video tours of the historical buildings of the capital appeared on the portal “Get to know Moscow”… During online walks, you can explore the appearance, interiors and history of cultural heritage sites. Thus, users will be able to visit the buildings of the Northern River Station and Tsentrosoyuz, the house of the merchant Igumnov, the Petrovsky Travel Palace, the Sovetskaya Hotel.
Video tours for the “Know Moscow” portal were prepared by Department of cultural heritage of the city of Moscow.
“Thanks to the format of the video tours, everyone can visit the historical buildings of the capital and architectural monuments without leaving their homes. Guides will tell you about the history of the construction of these buildings, their owners, events and legends associated with them. Users will have the opportunity to study these unique objects in detail, “said the head of the department.
Video tours dedicated to the city’s iconic architectural structures are now available on the portal.
“Among the objects that you can see are unique architectural monuments, 19th century mansions, examples of Art Nouveau and Soviet avant-garde. Such online walks will especially appeal to those who are interested in the history of the capital “, – said Sergey Shakryl, curator of IT projects in the field of culture and business Department of Information Technologies of the city of Moscow.
So, one of the video tours will take place around the house of the merchant Stakheev on Novaya Basmannaya street. The mansion was built in 1898 in the neo-Greek style for the gold miner Nikolai Stakheev. The author of the project was the architect Mikhail Bugrovsky. The house has preserved rooms in the classicism and baroque style, as well as a Gothic dining room and a Moorish smoking room. There is a working fountain in the garden in front of the house. It was made in a Parisian workshop at the end of the 19th century. Since 1918, the building housed the subdivisions of the People’s Commissariat of Railways, and since 1940 – the Central House of Railway Workers’ Children.
You can see one of the most famous examples of the Russian style in architecture during an online tour around the house of the merchant Igumnovon Bolshaya Yakimanka. It was built in 1895 by the architect Nikolai Pozdeev. The appearance of the building is reminiscent of ancient Russian chambers, also due to the roofs of different shapes and heights. The facades are finished with bricks, natural light stone and colored tiles. Many legends are associated with this house. According to one of them, the merchant arranged a ball in the house and, in order to surprise the guests, ordered to sprinkle the floor with golden imperials. The authorities regarded such an act as an insult to the sovereign (his portrait was minted on coins), and the owner was exiled to Abkhazia. Today the building is under the jurisdiction of the Main Directorate for Servicing the Diplomatic Corps under the Russian Foreign Ministry, and here is the residence of the French Ambassador to Russia.
Users of the Discover Moscow portal can visit and in the mansion of Alexandra Derozhinskaya in Kropotkinsky lane. It belonged to the daughter of the famous cloth manufacturer Ivan Butikov. The famous Moscow architect, Art Nouveau master Fyodor Shekhtel was involved in the development of the project of the future mansion. The house was erected in 1901-1903 and equipped with the latest technology of those years. Steam heating, exhaust ventilation, plumbing and sewerage, electricity and telephone communications were installed there. The interior of the building is also interesting. Its main attraction is a marble fireplace with a high relief in the form of two human figures holding a heavy oak frame. Since 1959, the residence of the Australian Ambassador has been located in the Derozhinskaya mansion.
Petrovsky traveling palace on Leningradsky Prospekt is another architectural monument that can be visited online on the Discover Moscow portal. An unusual brick building with decorative details of white stone was built in 1776-1780 according to the project of Matvey Kazakov. The palace was badly damaged by fire in 1812. Its restoration lasted until the 1840s. During the Soviet era, the building housed the N.E. Zhukovsky. Now the palace houses the Reception House of the Moscow Government.
Not far from the Petrovsky Traveling Palace on Leningradsky Prospekt there is another historical building – hotel “Soviet”… The grandiose Art Nouveau building with huge arched windows was erected in 1910 by the architect Adolf Erichson. The restaurant “Yar” with a summer garden was located here, and after 1917, at various times, the building housed a canteen, a hospital, a cinema, a gym for Red Army soldiers, and a cinema school. In the 1950s, the building was rebuilt in the Stalinist Empire style. The hotel “Sovetskaya” was opened there.
Also on the portal “Know Moscow” a video tour has been published on the building of Tsentrosoyuz on Myasnitskaya Street. It was built in 1930-1936 by the famous architect Le Corbusier. The avant-garde building consists of several glazed buildings. Now it houses the Federal State Statistics Service.
In addition, portal users are invited to see the result of another bold architectural experiment – House of NarkomfinLocated on Novinsky Boulevard. This is a striking example of the constructivist style. The building was built in 1928-1930 according to the project of architects Moisei Ginzburg and Ignatius Milinis for the employees of the People’s Commissariat of Finance of the USSR. The specialists used innovative planning ideas. It was the country’s first residential building on a reinforced concrete frame.
The house consists of two parts. It is a four-storey cube-shaped communal block and a six-storey rectangular residential block. The buildings are interconnected by an overhead passage. In 2020, the building, which had been in decline for a long time, was restored.
Northern river stationIs another unique monument of Soviet architecture of the 1930s. It is located on the bank of the Khimki reservoir. The building was built in 1933-1937 according to the project of Alexei Rukhlyadev and Vladimir Krinsky simultaneously with the Moscow Canal. The main theme in the architectural and artistic design of the Northern River Station is the image of Moscow as a port of five seas. Thanks to the opening of the Moscow Canal in the 1930s, river vessels sailing from here could reach five seas: the Azov, Black, Caspian, Baltic and White seas. The building looks like a huge double-deck ship. The central part with the main entrance, crowned with a tower with a 27-meter spire, resembles a ship’s hull with cabins, open galleries with fountains on the north and south sides – bow and stern. In 2010, the building was declared emergency and closed. Seven years later, preparations began for its restoration. Large-scale restoration work was completed last year. Now the Northern River Station, as before, receives and dispatches ships. The main directions of navigation are St. Petersburg, Yaroslavl, Kazan, Nizhny Novgorod, Rostov-on-Don, Uglich, Kostroma, Samara, Saratov, Gorodets, Myshkin, Valaam, Tver, Tutaev.
Where were the princely baths and how Bibirevo is connected with beavers: new online guides have appeared on the Discover Moscow portalFrom modern to mysticism: top popular routes on the Discover Moscow portal
The Discover Moscow portal is a joint project of the departments of information technology, culture, cultural heritage, education and science of Moscow. The interactive city online guide offers users 153 routes and 78 quests. The site also contains photographs and descriptions of more than two thousand buildings, over 660 monuments and 326 museums.
EDITOR’S NOTE: This article is a translation. Apologies should the grammar and or sentence structure not be perfect.