MIL OSI Translation. Region: Russian Federation –
April 2, 2021, 17:30
The entrance to the exhibition is free, it will last until the end of April, after which it will move to another location.
On the bridge across the Yauza, in the park along Olonetsky proezd, on April 2, a street photo exhibition dedicated to the archaeological heritage of the capital was opened. Anyone can see the finds made by archaeologists over the past ten years. The exhibition is organized by Department of cultural heritage and Babushkinsky Park, it will be open here until the end of April.
“Over the past decade, archaeologists working in Moscow have made many important discoveries. The cultural layer of our city is of particular interest to researchers, because we can find out how people lived, what they ate, how they arranged their homes. The exhibition tells about the unique discoveries of researchers that have been made over the past ten years, both in the historical center of Moscow and in the younger districts of the city, as well as in the TyNAO. Viewers will discover the riddles that were hidden underground on the streets of Lev Tolstoy, Prechistenka, Ramenki and Mitino, ”said the head of the Moscow City Heritage Site
Deputy Head of the Moscow City Heritage Department took part in the opening ceremony of the exhibition Leonid Kondrashev, Deputy Prefect of the North-Eastern Administrative District Mikhail Konopelchenko, Director of Babushkinsky Park Igor Buskin, archaeologists and residents of the area.
The exhibition is timed to coincide with the first mention of Moscow in the chronicles – April 4, 1147. The exposition presents photographs of archaeological works that were carried out during the restoration of the Khudozhestvenny cinema, in the Vysoko-Petrovsky monastery and in the Kitai-gorod area. Visitors will also see how excavations were going on in Beloye and Zemlyanoy Gorod, Zamoskvorechye, Kadashevskaya Sloboda, Stolovoy and Gogolevsky Lane, on Prechistenka, Sadovnicheskaya Street, in Soymonovsky Proyezd, on Lev Tolstoy Street, Kosmodamianovskaya and Sofiyskaya Embankments and in other places.
The photographs also show archaeological research in the area of the Ramenki River and work on the territory of the TyNAO, where more than 180 archaeological monuments have been found – fortified settlements, burial grounds, settlements and medieval settlements, quarries.
Among them – the burial mound of Oznobishino 4 (XII century), the village of Cherepovo 1 (XV century), the village of Spas-Purchase 1 (two treasures of silver and copper coins of the 16th century were found there), the Bogorodskoye quarry (XVIII century), the area near the village of Tarutino on the route of troops during the Tarutino maneuver of 1812.
In May, the exhibition will move to the archaeological area of the Mitino Landscape Park.
The first chronicle mention of Moscow
The first mention of Moscow in chronicles was recorded in the Ipatiev Chronicle. It describes the meeting of the Rostov-Suzdal prince Yuri Dolgoruky with prince Svyatoslav Olgovich in a town called Moskov. This happens on Saturday, April 4, 1147.
According to the chronicle “On the Beginning of the Moscow Reign”, villages on the territory of modern Moscow (Vorobyevo, Simonovo, Vysotskoye, Kulishki, Kudrino and Sushchevo) belonged to the Suzdal boyar Kuchka. For some reason, Yuri Dolgoruky disliked him. He executed Kuchka and took possession of his lands. According to the missing chronicle, which was used by Vasily Tatishchev, Kuchka wanted to flee to Kiev, but the prince overtook and killed him in Moscow.
However, many historians consider this news to be unreliable. Therefore, Moscow at first bore the second name “Kuchkov”, and the area between Lubyanka and Sretensky gates was known as Kuchkovo Pole until the 15th century.
EDITOR’S NOTE: This article is a translation. Apologies should the grammar and or sentence structure not be perfect.