Post sponsored by

MIL OSI Translation. Region: Russian Federation –

Deputy Prime Minister Alexei Overchuk attended a meeting of the Eurasian Economic Commission’s Council via videoconference.

Those taking part in the event reviewed topical tasks of expanding Eurasian economic integration still further. The parties discussed macro-economic policy guidelines of states, members of the Eurasian Economic Union for 2021-2022, joint cryptographic protection mechanisms during the labeling of goods using identification systems, a plan for drafting technical regulations of the Eurasian Economic Union and ways of expanding the system of electronic vehicle certificates.

The participants made a decision to provide a tariff privilege in the form of duty-free sugar imports from 15 May to 30 September 2021. Not more than 22,400 tonnes of sugar shall be imported duty-free into the Republic of Armenia, 134,400 tonnes to the Republic of Kazakhstan, 40,000 tonnes to the Kyrgyz Republic and 350,000 tonnes to the Russian Federation.

At the same time, the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission and states, members of the Eurasian Economic Union, shall monitor actual monthly sugar import volumes using the tariff privilege, as well as the volume of sugar sales on the domestic market of the Union’s member states, and inform the Council of the Eurasian Economic Commission about this. In the context of the situation to do with the sugar market, the parties agreed to reexamine the possibility of the implementation of additional measures in July 2021, if such measures prove necessary.

The concerned consumers and producers shall cooperate with the Eurasian Economic Commission in order to ensure prompt sugar supplies to domestic markets of the Union’s member states. The parties shall also draft proposals on the sustainable development of the Union’s sugar market.

EDITOR’S NOTE: This article is a translation. Apologies should the grammar and or sentence structure not be perfect.

MIL OSI Russia News