Post sponsored by

MIL OSI Translation. Region: Russian Federation –

September 30, 2021, 22:04

Share this

Press service of the organizing committee of the Volleyball World Championship – 2022

The finalists will play a one-round tournament in mini-groups (three teams each).

Decisive matches will take place in Moscow world championship on volleyball among men’s teams, which will be held from August 26 to September 11, 2022.

Within the framework of the tournament, 70 matches will be played over 12 playing days:

– August 26 – the opening match in St. Petersburg (the VFV national team will meet with Tunisia);

– August 27-29 – the first preliminary stage in Moscow, Krasnoyarsk, Novosibirsk, Kemerovo, Ufa and Yekaterinburg;

– September 2–4 – the second preliminary stage in St. Petersburg, Kaliningrad, Yaroslavl and Kazan;

– September 7-11 – “Final Six” in Moscow.

The finalists will play a one-round tournament in mini-groups (three teams each). Then the semi-finals and finals will take place. The winners of the semi-finals will compete for the trophy in the main final of the World Championship, the losers will fight in the match for third place.

24 men’s teams will take part in the World Championship: the All-Russian Volleyball Federation (VFV), Poland, Iran, Japan, Tunisia, Cameroon, Italy, Slovenia, Brazil, Argentina, Puerto Rico, Canada, France, USA, Serbia, Cuba, the Netherlands, Germany, Mexico, Turkey, Egypt, Qatar, Bulgaria and China.

September 30 at the Palace of Gymnastics of Irina Viner-Usmanova two-time world champions Lyubov Sokolova and Ekaterina Gamovaas well as Olympic champions Taras Khtey and Volodymyr Grbic held the draw. Group A included Russia, Puerto Rico, Tunisia and Serbia, Group B – Brazil, Qatar, Cuba and Japan, Group C – Poland, Bulgaria, Mexico, USA, Group D – France, Cameroon, Germany, Slovenia. Group E consisted of Italy, China, Turkey and Canada, Group F – Argentina, Egypt, the Netherlands and Iran.

Russia will host the Volleyball World Championship for the first time. In the USSR, men’s and women’s tournaments were held five times. The current championship will be the 20th in the history of the International Volleyball Federation. Its participants will be 24 national men’s teams that have passed the qualification round.

EDITOR’S NOTE: This article is a translation. Apologies should the grammar and or sentence structure not be perfect.

MIL OSI Russia News